Aksum Review of Books
POAAS
Our Lady Maryam Song
0:00
-2:18

Our Lady Maryam Song

Over a few years, I translated, sang, and compiled two to three score spiritual songs, predominately of the chebchebo and mahiléte ginbo variety at Tewahido. Recently, I have stressed the importance of and my preference for the eucharistic liturgy and the liturgy of the hours. Nevertheless, I firmly believe there is a place for these types of songs, and so from time-to-time I have worked with talented singers raised in our tradition. A few parishes in Seattle, one in Atlanta, and some in the Bay Area have all used my translations or edits to them.

I encourage this! This here is from one of the disciples of the Chief of Tongues Dcn. Birhanu in Seattle. It blends genres and tongues as a chebchebo of a line from the liturgy of hours, rendered in Ge’ez, Amharic, and English. Enjoy. And spread the good news.

0 Comments
Aksum Review of Books
POAAS
-self-published short and longform conversations on art and science
-book and film reviews
-homilies
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
H.E. Negash