Aksum Review of Books
POAAS
the light of the cross
0:00
-9:24

the light of the cross

ብርሃነ መስቀል

Be aware that sometimes I upload content directly to aksum.substack.com without an email notification, in order to make sure you are never pestered by these rather blessed twice and thrice over.

In my last post, which was my conversation with Sam deep-diving into guragé culture, en passant, I mention the adeesgé clan of northern shewa that my paternal grandmother was a member of. The amhara do not have many clans, but this is one of them, and it is bursting-at-the-seems with aristocrats (ras beetweded tesema nadew, ras beetweded mekwenin indalkachew, lij indalkachew mekwenin, ras mesfin sileshee, ras desta damTew, ras liul’seged aTnaf’seged etc.), even though my direct ancestors from this clan were clergy more than anything else. One day I may begin translating the clan’s book into english.

meshesha biru, son of dejazmach biru qaseem, who fell asleep with the lord a couple of weeks ago, was also a member. He is survived by his wife, three children, and one grandchild. I grew up going to church casually (once a month) with two of his children.

Here I am baptizing his grandson last fall.

May god rest the soul of the light of the cross in the bosom of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. And send his comforting and reassuring spirit to all grieving and sorrowful family and friends.

0 Comments
Aksum Review of Books
POAAS
-self-published short and longform conversations on art and science
-book and film reviews
-homilies
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
H.E. Negash